Come, Sit, Stay, Read

Loch Ness Knit Fest 2017

Yay!!!!! I am so excited to find out that the Loch Ness Knit Fest will be happening again in October 2017!! I so wish I could attend. 

I just went through Instagram photos just this week. There were so many darling Nessies. I could even pick out a few that I had sent, which was pretty exciting. The Nessies went to a children’s charity there in Inverness. 

I am hoping that the festival will still create a way for those of us who can’t attend, still feel included by having another charity knit/crochet challenge. I would love for it to become an annual crochet Nessies for charity and the show. It’s such a fun way to give to others. I also enjoy spreading the joy of knitting and crochet to others through such a cool event. 

Which brings me to today’s project. I am working on a handsome little dog sweater. I would have finished it except I was called away by my daughter who was in desperate need of help, as only a little one can be.

In sad news, my brand new, lovely, useful, did I mention new, handmade, ceramic knitting bowl got cracked in two. After a brief moment of sorrow, from both me and the breaker of the bowl, I pulled out some handy dandy gorilla glue (the clear type) and put it back together. What really calmed me was remembering how the Japanese use gold to repair pottery because it is more beautiful having been broken. It is called kintsukuroi. And while I didn’t have gold on hand to use to repair my bowl, I found I had a new outlook on the accident and there was no need for sorrow. Such a calming and peaceful way to look at the world. I believe it can even apply to people. How after being broken, they can be mended and repaired with the golden light of love and healing. Which creates a more beautiful, understanding, wiser person who can then share that light with others. It also reminds me of the passage where God mends the broken hearted. 

Psalms 147:3 He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds.

Leave a Reply

